Sunday, November 8, 2009

Jennifer's Body

Definitely one of the movies Id love to see again. At first I thought it was just another ordinary movie and that the only aspect that made me and my girlfriend watch is the fact that Megan Fox was in it, well we'd like to see if she has more to offer than what she did in Transformers and we saw that she did.

The story is about two best friends with very different worlds, Jennifer the sexy hot chick and Needy the book worm. It all comes at a concert in the local bar when the bar burns the band who plays there suddenly takes Jenny and offers her to Satan. Since Jennifer is not a virgin which the band members did not know, turned into a flesh eating chick who preys mostly on boys.

As the story goes Jennifer confessed to her best friend Needy. Needy shocked tried to keep her boyfriend away from her, but unfortunately Jennifer caught Needy's boyfriend and tried to eat him. Needy came to her boyfriends rescue and injuring Jennifer in the process. Needy's boyfriend dies and Needy herself was bittin, what she didnt know is that anyone bitten by the monster and survives absorbs some of the monsters abilities. Needy kills her bestfriend and ends up in a mental hospital, she eventually escapes and hunts down the band members that initially killed her bestfriend, and kills them.

A very cool movie, with a very cool sound track and ill be grabbing a copy of songs.

Saturday, July 18, 2009

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

One of the biggest movies this year Harry Potter and the half blood prince is the sixth movie from the Harry Potter movie franchise based from book of the same title. The movie continues the struggle of Harry against his enemies in the world of magic. I dont really want to tell much about the story as I have not yet made any synopsis of any Harry Potter Movie in my blogs, so I would suggest you read the book or watch the movie as it is a great story.

As you would expect from any movie adaptation, there are missing chapters and edited story lines, but I must say the producers of the movie did a good job in keeping things in-line with the book so to speak. Even if there were missing chapters you dont feel as if your having a hard time understanding the story, you feel you don't need to read the actual book (but I suggest you do...). The characters were also great, maybe because they are more mature and more at ease with their characters (they are doing the movie franchise for the sixth time...), seeing them grow is facinating indeed, from the first movie till this one.

Effects, cinematography and all the stuff that makes the movie is really superbly done, they maintained that quality that was seen on the previous movies. There weren't really that much action as it told in the book but and even if i would have loved the movie even more if those chapters were included the movie still seemed fine. Its like you would wacth it for the movie and not just because of the book, it was a balanced film as far as action, story and effects were concerned, in all it was a great movie and my opinion one of the best among the Harry Potter Franchise.

Saturday, July 4, 2009

The Notebook Movie Quotes

"The Notebook" a 2004 love story movie about an old couple where the man tells his wife about their story but the wife does not remember anything not even him. The man who never lost hope continues to read their story until one night his wife finally remembers and died sleeping together. I love this movie which I watched together with my girlfriend, despite the condition of his wife, the man persisted on staying with her, I rarely like love stories but this is one of a few films that I liked, maybe because the story was told in a different way or how the story tells how an ideal couple would be in a somewhat realistic society. Here are some of the quotes that I liked:

Noah: I am no one special. Just a common man with common thoughts. There are no monuments dedicated to me and my name will soon be forgotten. But in one respect I have succeeded as gloriously as anyone who ever lived. I've loved another with all my heart and soul and for me that has always been enough.

most of the time I have all these thoughts bouncing around in my head, but with a brush in my hand, the world just gets kinda quiet.

Noah: Well thanks doc, but you know what they say, science goes only so far and then comes God.

Anne: 'Cause I might know you a little better than you think. And I don't want you waking up one morning thinking if you'd known everything you might have done something different.

Allie's mother: Sometimes when I'm in the area, I just stop here and I watch him, trying to picture how different my life might have been.

Line from a letter of Noah to Allie: The best love is the kind that awakens the soul and makes us reach for more, that plants a fire in our hearts and brings peace to our minds. And that's what you've given me. That's what I'd hoped to give you forever.

Sunday, June 28, 2009

Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen (synopsis)

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is the sequel to the first movie released in 2007. Just by watching the trailer you would know that this was a movie to watch in the silver screen. It tells about the story when the decepticons return to Earth first to revive Megatron leader of the decepticons and to fulfill the revenge of the Fallen. The fallen is said to be one of the oldest transformers who visited Earth, alongside with other Primes with the goal to harvest the Sun. The Fallen made a Sun Harvester despite the disagreement of other primes since they saw early humans living in Earth. The other primes stopped the Fallen by hidding the Matrix of Leadership the key to the Sun Harvester.

Present day, Sam found a shard of the all spark and receives some of its energy and knowledge. Hunted by the decepticons he is evtually helped by his autobot buddy bumble bee and his girl friend Mikaela, Optimus Prime also came to the rescue but was killed in the process by Megatron. After learning of the meaning of the symbols Sam has seen since he found the shard he goes to Egypt and after a heavy strugle revives Optimus Prime kills the Fallen and Megatron retreats.

The movie is one of the best I have seen and really keeps you on your seat, effects was realistic and they introduced new transformers into the movie from the original Cartoon. Words cant describe what they have done with the movie, it was money well spent.

Friday, June 26, 2009

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans

The blog was posted at last February 1, 2009.

The third movie from the Underworld is really something, seeing the first two movies made me feel that the third movie is bound to be spectacular.Instead of making a sequel the movie producers decided on making a prequel which is pretty neat considering that the previous movies still lack a few details on their past.

It movie is centered on the origins of Lucian, leader of the Lycans from the first movie and how he became the first Lycan able to change to human form, after being born from a werewolf mother. He was then taken by Viktor, the vampire king who used lucian to create more lycans to be viktors slaves. The idea seemed perfect, lycans being stronger than humans and immortal as well would be best suited to being his slaves, Viktor even created a colar with spikes that would immediately kill any lycan whishing to transform.

The only thing was, and based on the first movie, Lucian was in love with Viktor's daughter, Sonja. Things get complicated when Sonja tried to escort a few nobles to enter their castle, but they were attacked by werewolves which unlike Lucian could not take human form. Lucian upon knowing this rushed to save Sonja, and disobeyed Viktor by transforming into a werewolf, amazingly other werewolves seemed to obey Lucian.

Viktor saw Lucians disobedience, and punishes him, after receiving severe punishment Lucian escapes with a few slaves but returns after knowing that Sonja would be killed after Viktor knew about their relationship. Lucian tries to free Sonja but was captured, Lucian is once again punished but this time by seeing Sonja die before him by being burned from sun light. Lucian once again tries to escape, but is severly injured, despite being weak, he calls upon his werewolf bretheren to attack the vampire castle. The sheer number of were wolves over powers the vampires and is over run, and Viktor is defeated by Lucian.

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans Movie Review

The blog was posted at last February 1, 2009.

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans is the prequel to the Underworld series, and just the previous releases, the movie centers on the struggle between Vampire and Werewolves known in this movie as Lycans. The movie showed most of the previous characters except Selene which is played by Kate Beckinsale. Although Kate or Selene was gone, another female vampire was present and She was Sonja played by Rhona Mitra. Athough I liked Kate more Rhona was equally stunning, plus her awesome performance as a Vampire princess.

The movie answered a few questions from the previous Underworld movies and the origin of the great feud the first two movies revolved upon. It nice to see that there is consistency on the movie based on what was previously told on the first movie. Actions scenes were immense, with battles that show a lot of gore and brutality, which of course I liked since the battles look realistic, despite having an R13 rating. Battle choreography was very nice, accompanied by great back ground but there were a bit awkward camera angles, but great fight scenes none the less.

The actors played very well, specially for Rhona, who fought and moved just like Kate, consistent with Sonja and Selene being incomparable in the eyes of Viktor. There were a few things I made me think though, like Kraven who was portrayed as a hero by the vampires where does he come in, and why did the Viktor and the rest of the elders went to sea, when in fact they would try to exterminate the Lycans. These questions might probably be answered if producers would make a fourth movie.

All in all, Underworld: Rise of the Lycans, great movie, no money wasted, very very nice.


This blog was posted at last February 8, 2009

Here is another movie from Brendan Fraser, and how he saves the day once more. Inkheart is a movie similar to the genres of Naria a fantasy movie that tells the amazing powers of Mo, played by Brendan, to turn bring to life the characters from the books that he reads out loud. But there is a twist to his powers, everytime a character comes out a book someone from the real world comes inside the book.

That is what happened the time he read a book to her daughter and brought in characters from Inkheart, a story set in medieval times and filled with magical creatures. Years later Dustfinger, a character from inkheart tracks them and abducts Mo, her daughter Maggie and Maggie's aunt. The three found out, other magical creatures that came out from the book, and truth to the disappearance of Maggies mother.

Dustfinger soon realizes his mistake and frees the three in pursuit to the remaining copy of inkheart and found their way to its author. As they found the author, Dustfinger admits to Mo that his wife is no longer inside the book but is held captive inside the castle where they were previously detained. The two decides to go back the castle and save the wife of Mo, while Maggie was abducted by villains at the house of inkhearts author.

The villains soon discovers that Maggie has inherited Mo's ability and uses her to unleash a powerful evil being from inkheart. Mo stops this,while Maggies used her own body and writes a story of her own and reads it aloud to save the day.